Economic Development Committee Receives Sakey Award from CCTV

Economic Development Committee Receives Sakey Award from CCTV

  • Posted on: 26 April 2005
  • By: owner

On April 25, at its annual meeting, Cambridge Community Television awarded the Joseph Sakey Award to the Economic Development Committee of the Cambridge City Council. The Sakey Award is named for the former Director of the Cambridge Public Library who developed plans for the cable system in the City. It is presented annually to the individual or organization that has done the most to advance access to media and technology in Cambridge.

The Economic Development Committee, chaired by City Councilor Ken Reeves, was the umbrella group that planned and facilitated special events held in Cambridge during the 2004 Democratic National Convention. Through this Committee, CCTV was awarded a grant from the City for the satellite uplink of 3 hours daily of live alternative news programming from CCTV during the DNC, including Democracy Now! and CCTV‚s Crashing the Party.

Other awards were presented to CCTV members for outstanding service to the organization and the Cambridge community. Jonathan Millman, Matt Caswell, Renato Rodriguez, Dave Spalding, Jamila Newton, and Lauren Kroiz were recognized as Interns of the Year; Luis Texeira, Janis Hellew, and Mark Kelsey as Trainers of the Year; Buz Owen as Volunteer; Youth Intern is Jeannette Holland and Youth Member is Tyrone Barros; Marissa Acosta and Cory Blamire received the Rudy Award for Service Above and Beyond the call of Duty, and Porfirio de las Nieves was presented with the David Avellone Award for most technical improvement. Boston Indy Media was recognized as Organization of the Year, for their role producing segments for Crashing the Party.

Elections were held for CCTV‚s Board of Directors. Chosen for three-year terms were Ken Kreshtool and Wayne Williams. Incumbents Joe Douillette and Dyanne London were re-elected to three-year terms, and Rebecca King was re-elected to fill a one-year seat.

Eight members were elected to serve on the Members Advisory Committee: Angel Aiguier, Cody Romano, Shams Mirza, Lauren Kroiz, Emanuel Gardiner, Ann Medeiros, Corey O‚Hara, and Wayne Robinson.

The CCTV By-laws were amended to establish an Honorary Board.