click to enlarge

Join NHLP's Resident Training Academy and Pass the Word Too!

Know your rights, exercise your power, and let your voice be heard!

The National Housing Law Project (NHLP), the nation’s top legal expert on the rights of residents in HUD”s federally-assisted rental housing programs, will launch its Resident Training Academy with a series of internet trainings on April 10.

With web-based training in the comfort of your home or office, you’ll get an overview of HUD’s rental housing programs and you’ll learn about participation and organizing rights in those programs. We’ll explain to you how HUD arrives at residents’ rent calculations, what’s included as tenant income and what should not be considered as income. We’ll discuss reasonable accommodation rights when someone in the household has a disability. And we’ll help you apply your knowledge! Learn what tools residents can use to enforce their rights. For more details, visit us at http://www.nhlp.org/.

WHO SHOULD ATTEND: Tenants of HUD’s affordable rental housing programs including public housing, vouchers, and project-based Section 8, resident council members, local tenant advocates, community organizers.

All sessions are web-based although audio-only can be accessed by phone. There are no training fees thanks to the support of the Herb Block Foundation.

All sessions will be held at 6:00 PM ET (5:00 PM CT, 4:00 PM MT and 3:00 PM PT).

LEARN MORE AND REGISTER NOW.

PLEASE SPREAD THE WORD AND HELP BUILD A NETWORK OF EMPOWERED COMMUNITY RESIDENTS! We’ve attached a PDF flyer for posting to friends, neighbors, members, and colleagues.

Stand with us and advance housing justice-Please Support NHLP!

SOURCE:The National Housing Law Project (NHLP)Susan Stern,Deputy Director of Administration,National Housing Law Project,703 Market Street, Suite 2000,San Francisco, CA 94103,Phone: 415-546-7000, Ext 3110,Email: sstern@nhlp.org

AttachmentSize
Resident Training Curriculum.pdf109.6 KB